Quantcast
GunAuction Forum - FRaud from GB? or Not?

Home | Registration | Become a Seller | Appraisals | Sell an Item | Help & Info
Search | Forum | Find a FFL | My Auctions | My Bids | Contact Us | Log In

(Forum Home)--->(Scammer and Fraud Alerts)--->(FRaud from GB? or Not?)
Thread Admin: WALI (91-0-0) Posted: 03/25/2010 at 05:39:25
Total Posts: 14
Thread Title: "FRaud from GB? or Not?"
WALI

I recived this, not knowing from Whom it came. I, just last week, bought a handun on the other site. Am I being "hacked, scamed, or what? WALI.............

(Start a Thread) (Forum Rules)

Thread Admin: WALI(91-0-0) Post#1 - Posted: 03/25/2010 at 05:39:48
WALI

I just got one from "another site" saying ,"We need to update your information". I clicked the link, and, A LARGE YELLOW AND RED PAGE CAME UP STATING, " THIS IS KNOWN TO BE A FRAUDULENT WEBSITE!!!  It is reccommened that you delete IMMEDIATLY! HERE IT IS! DO NOT CLICK ON THE LINK!! They are some crooks about! THERE is nothing incorrect about my info! I have been a member there for 3 yrs, and only 4 transactions. So, if any of you are a member there also, BEWARE! YellWALI....................... 

Update your account information‏

From: Offline GunBroker (automated@gunbroker.com)
  High riskThis message may be dangerous. Learn more
Sent: Mon 3/22/10 3:40 AM
To: TAILROTOR500@*******

*** DO NOT REPLY TO THIS MESSAGE. THIS IS AN AUTOMATED ACCOUNT AND ANY REPLY WILL NOT BE READ ***


We have sent you this message because you registered to use our online auction site. Sometimes registrants enter their email address incorrectly,which may cause the wrong party to receive the message.
We regret to inform you that your account could be temporaly suspended due to the violation of our site policy below:
False or missing contact information - Falsifying or omitting your name, address, and/or telephone number (including use of fax machines pager numbers, modems or disconnected numbers).
If you received this message please please click on the link below,
and provide us additional information.

http://www.gunbroker.com/updatereg.a?u=info&r=3446


Thank you,

GB Holdings, Inc
PO Box 19137
Atlanta, GA 31126
The Web's Largest Hunting and Sport Shooting Auction

Former Seller: 8042(134-0-0) Post#2 - Posted: 03/25/2010 at 05:58:41
8042

Hack attempt.

Seller: WallyM3(51-0-0) Post#3 - Posted: 03/25/2010 at 07:41:56
(no avatar)

Dishonesty...? On the Internet...?

Buyer: 5thcommjarhead(67-0-0) Post#4 - Posted: 03/25/2010 at 09:10:18
5thcommjarhead

Wow!  Whoulda thunk it?

Seller: WILLIE TA(1643-0-1) Post#5 - Posted: 03/25/2010 at 14:32:27
WILLIE TA

HI GUYS..... I GOT IT ALSO BUT I GAVE THEM B---- S--- INFO FOR THEM TO WORK ON....

       

Seller: WallyM3(51-0-0) Post#6 - Posted: 03/25/2010 at 15:42:58
(no avatar)

Hey, what's Obama's Social Security number?

Former Seller: One Old Marine(474-0-1) Post#7 - Posted: 03/25/2010 at 16:37:59
(no avatar)

He doesn't have one!

Seller: WallyM3(51-0-0) Post#8 - Posted: 03/25/2010 at 18:05:15
(no avatar)

Oh, that's right. I forgot.

Former Seller: c3shooter(36-0-0) Post#9 - Posted: 03/25/2010 at 18:46:26
c3shooter

Wali- odds are, you user name "over there" and your email are the same.  Scammers have been blanket emailing everyone using yahoo.com, gmail.com, etc, phishing for you to enter information.  so they send the email to 1 million addresses- 1000 of which are valid email addresses.  100 people actually read their message, and 2 actually "update" their info- supplying the scammer with info they need to loot your credit card, bank account, etc.  They have had a good day. 

Seller: Bubba J(117-0-0) Post#10 - Posted: 03/26/2010 at 02:29:15
Bubba J

c3shooter: Back when I still had a bit of Internet dampness behind my ears, and was suffering through a major brain cramp, not thinking, I responded and "updated" my e-Bay info as a result of receiving one of these scam e-mails. Later in the day I realized what I had done and scrambled to close my checking accounts, credit cards, etc. Nothing criminal ever happened, and I placed a fraud watch with the three credit reporting agencies, but what a pain in the backsides it was to start these accounts all over again. As I always say....................Life is a learning experience.

FR&G

(Next 10 Posts)   (Ending)

Home | Registration | Become a Seller | Appraisals | Sell an Item | Help & Info
Search | Forum | Find a FFL | My Auctions | My Bids | Contact Us | Log In


GunAuction.com is best seen using Google Chrome or Microsoft IE9 with javascript enabled, and Adobe Flash installed.
Copyright 1997- 2013 AuctionArms.com, Inc., Orem UT -- All Rights Reserved.